Roasted Tomato Lentil Soup with Olives and Spinach

It’s so satisfying to dump a whole bag of spinach into a soup and watch it wilt into seemingly nothing because how many times do I throw out full bags before getting to eat them?! I used ALL the spinach. I will always remember this day for all spinach ghosts who have departed my fridge without realizing not just their full, but ANY potential.

tomato lentil soup

This soup is pretty quick and easy. It does not reheat well however so if you are just two people, halve the recipe. I would add more lentil though, it seemed very light on lentil. You could double it, just not if you halve the recipe. Are you following? 🙂  Also, canned roasted tomatoes were not at my local grocery store so I bought plain diced. If you wanted to be hardcore, you could roast your own. And I have yet to discover the difference between sweet paprika to smoked etc. I just used regular old paprika. I already had a decent amount of spices before vegan cooking but have used even more and more after starting. My spice cabinet is overflowing! So no buying a spice just for this recipe.

Here is a link to the recipe.

I did not also realize that french bread is vegan. It IS! I naively thought there was some egg or butter involved in making it. So, as long as you can eat french bread, that should make everyone vegan right? Ignore that you can’t have cheese or butter with said bread? Ok, it will not make it easier for the average person, but I was slightly surprised and then realized, duh, obviously french bread is light and fluffy and no butter or egg!

Leave a comment